MB-trac Man Turns to Rygor to Help Restore Tractor to Former Glory

Wednesday 23rd September 2020

  When a passion for the MB-trac, stemmed from sunny days spent on a Devonshire farm in the 80’s, turned into a fully-fledged business, Paul James of needed a reliable and trusted Mercedes-Benz GenuineParts supplier to help bring his…

Read more

New Heavy Vehicle Scrappage Scheme Launched

Wednesday 30th September 2020

A new heavy vehicle scrappage scheme has been announced in an effort to clean up London's air pollution. The scheme will offer small businesses and charities with heavy vehicles a £15,000 grant to replace or retrofit older vehicles if it…

Read more

Direct Vision Standard

Tuesday 31st March 2020

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) forms part of The Mayor of London and TfL’s Vision Zero approach to reducing road danger.


Why is this coming into effect?

Heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) were involved in around 78% of cyclist fatalities and 20% of pedestrian fatalities in London in 2015, despite making up less than 4% of the miles driven. This is mainly attributed to vehicle blind spots.

The world leading Direct Vision Standard is part of the Mayor of London’s ‘Vision Zero Approach’ to eliminating all deaths and serious injuries from London’s roads by 2041.

What is the DVS?

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) and safety permit for heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) requires all lorries over 12 tonnes gross vehicle weight to be granted a permit to enter or operate in Greater London in 2020. The scheme was created to improve the safety of all road users, including pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists.

Vehicles are given a star rating based on this visibility from zero (poor) to 5 (excellent). The star rating indicates the level of risk presented to vulnerable road users, such as people walking, cycling and riding motorbikes near your HGV.

What does this mean for you?

By 2024 only 3 star rated HGVs and above will be granted a Safety Permit with HGVs rated 2 star and below needing to demonstrate compliance against progressive Safe System measures before being granted a permit. The Safe System could include measures such as sensors and visual warnings.

If your vehicle already meets the minimum direct vision standard star rating you will automatically be granted a permit when you apply online. If your vehicle does not meet the minimum star rating, you will need to improve the overall safety of your vehicle by fitting an industry recognised Safe System or by investing in a higher rated truck before the 26th October 2020.

What is the latest news on the DVS?

Under the current circumstances it has been announced that enforcement of the new standard will be temporarily postponed to March 2021. This is to allow the transport industry to focus on core operations during the Coronavirus pandemic and will ultimately give you more time to prepare.

Future-proof your fleet. To check the star rating of your vehicles, enter the registration number on the TFL website and apply today.