Direct Vision Standard | Rygor Mercedes-Benz

Direct Vision Standard


The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) forms part of The Mayor of London and TfL’s Vision Zero approach to reducing road danger.

Why is this coming into effect?

Heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) were involved in around 78% of cyclist fatalities and 20% of pedestrian fatalities in London in 2015, despite making up less than 4% of the miles driven. This is mainly attributed to vehicle blind spots.

The world leading Direct Vision Standard is part of the Mayor of London’s ‘Vision Zero Approach’ to eliminating all deaths and serious injuries from London’s roads by 2041.

What is the DVS?

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) and safety permit for heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) requires all lorries over 12 tonnes gross vehicle weight to be granted a permit to enter or operate in Greater London in 2020. The scheme was created to improve the safety of all road users, including pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists.

Vehicles are given a star rating based on this visibility from zero (poor) to 5 (excellent). The star rating indicates the level of risk presented to vulnerable road users, such as people walking, cycling and riding motorbikes near your HGV.

What does this mean for you?

By 2024 only 3 star rated HGVs and above will be granted a Safety Permit with HGVs rated 2 star and below needing to demonstrate compliance against progressive Safe System measures before being granted a permit. The Safe System could include measures such as sensors and visual warnings.

If your vehicle already meets the minimum direct vision standard star rating you will automatically be granted a permit when you apply online. If your vehicle does not meet the minimum star rating, you will need to improve the overall safety of your vehicle by fitting an industry recognised Safe System or by investing in a higher rated truck before the 26th October 2020.

What is the latest news on the DVS?

Under the current circumstances it has been announced that enforcement of the new standard will be temporarily postponed to March 2021. This is to allow the transport industry to focus on core operations during the Coronavirus pandemic and will ultimately give you more time to prepare.

What star ratings do Mercedes-Benz trucks have?

For an accurate star rating for your Mercedes-Benz truck its a good idea to have a chat to one of our truck sales executive or visit the TFL website below.

Future-proof your fleet. To check the star rating of your vehicles, enter the registration number on the TFL website and apply today.

Why Rygor?

With 11 branches throughout Berkshire, Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Somerset, West London, Wiltshire and Worcestershire, Rygor are a multi award winning specialist Mercedes-Benz van and truck Dealership.